Europe’s No.1 in the Motorcycle

Useful information on motorcycle tyres

Although Louis doesn't sell tyres, we've put together some useful information for you – because your tyres are the most important "interface" between motorcycle and road. In fact, they're essential both for the fun of biking and for your safety.

How your motorcycle "feels" is primarily down to your tyres. Furthermore, the stock tyres which come with a motorcycle are not necessarily the best. To find what alternatives are available, you can visit the websites of most major tyre manufacturers and just select "Tyre finder" or "Tyre selector", or ask a professional tyre supplier and fitter, like reifen.com in Germany. Test reports in the trade press are also a valuable guide.

It's worth trying out a different set of tyres now and then because every biker has personal preferences, and all the major tyre brands are of a comparably high quality. You should, however, be extremely cautious when it comes to cut-price tyres from unheard-of brands. Your tyres are the last thing that you should be cutting corners on.

[IMAGE: Find out more about tires.]

The most important types of tyre 

The range of tyres currently on the market is as wide and diverse as the motorcycles on offer and the demands of the bikers who ride them. Specialisation is the key, which is why the following list of tyre types can only give you a broad idea of what is available. There is, of course, overlap between the individual categories.

[IMAGE: Set of tires for wear.]
[IMAGE: Zitat – „their mileage performance and wet grip make them ideal for long holiday tours in any weather.“]

The all-rounder: sport touring tyres

This tyre category represents the greatest challenge for development teams because customer demands are very high and very contradictory. And yet the manufacturers are increasingly successful in rising to the challenge of pleasing everyone. Today's sports touring tyres offer as much grip as out-and-out sport tyres did 10-15 years ago, while their mileage performance and wet grip make them ideal for long holiday tours in any weather. 

[IMAGE: Set of tires for Touring.]
[IMAGE: „Many sports tires stick really lucky when they are warmed up.“]

Just right for big bruisers: touring bike/cruiser tyres

When it comes to tyres for heavy cruisers and touring bikes like the Honda Gold Wing, maximum grip when leaning into corners is less of an issue. Instead, it's more about properties like stability, load-bearing capacity and mileage performance. Extra-wide rear tyres for custom bikes also belong to this category.

[IMAGE: Sports and racing tires.]

For life in the fast lane: sport and race tyres

The key criteria with these tyres are maximum grip and optimum lap times. The comparatively pointed profile of a sport tyre offers maximum contact with the road when leaning hard into corners – which is vital for accelerating out of a bend. This type of tyre tends to use softer rubber mixtures, which are designed to provide maximum grip, but with the downside that they wear relatively quickly. Many sport tyres only start to grip really well once they have warmed up with riding.

* Out-and-out racing tyres are even more extreme in their design: no tread, short life and poor grip when cold - which is why they are strictly for the race track only. There are also in-between versions, e.g. for race training. These are approved for road use, but their performance is still very much tailored to racing.

[IMAGE: Sports and racing tires.]
[IMAGE: Set of tires for enduro.]

The SUVs among tyres: (touring) enduro tyres

This type of tyre is specially designed for big enduros like the R 1200 GS. Essentially, they are sport touring tyres with a more or less chunky tread profile. So they're versatile and perform well on different surfaces, at least on asphalt and firm tracks. For more extreme off-road conditions, you'll need the sort of knobbly tyres that can take soft, wet ground and sand in their stride – but, of course, at the cost of road performance.

  • 1) road tyres that can handle dirt tracks
  • 2) hybrids for rougher ground
  • 3) off-road tyres suitable for asphalt
[IMAGE: Set of tires for enduro.]
[IMAGE: Set of tires for cross and enduro terrain.]

Getting down and dirty: off-road tyres

Sand, mud and gravel are what this type of tyre likes best. This is where the rubber knobs are at their most efficient, gripping the rough terrain and delivering superb propulsion. Trial, motocross and enduro riders will find tyres in this category with highly specialised tread patterns for a wide range of riding conditions. The only sort of terrain these off-road tyres struggle to handle is asphalt, where their performance tends to be jerky and soft.

Ensuring a perfect fit: tyre approval

Part I of your motor vehicle registration certificate contains details of the tyre dimensions approved for your motorcycle (see below). Often it also gives manufacturer and model of the original tyres. If you're planning to buy tyres of another make, or even with different dimensions, we recommend that you first check that they have a certificate of approval. This information is generally available from your friendly neighbourhood tyre dealer or to download from the tyre manufacturer's website. And please bear in mind, certificates of approval are not there just to satisfy the police and MOT testers. They also ensure there'll be no nasty surprises when you're on the road, as these certificates are normally only issued after thorough road testing by motorcycle and tyre manufacturers.

[IMAGE: Set of tires for scooters.]

Small is beautiful: scooter tyres

The main difference between scooter and motorcycle tyres is also the most obvious: their size. However, the really tiny 10" tyres of the old Vespas are pretty much a thing of the past. Nowadays, 12-14" tyres are standard – which give improved stability at higher speeds. The design, rubber mixture and tread of modern scooter tyres are very similar to those of their big sisters. They too come in sport, touring and even off-road versions. There is also a type of scooter tyre that's not available for motorbikes: winter tyres with siped tread and rubber mixtures that still offer grip when the thermometer drops to zero and below.

Markings on motorcycle tyres

Let's refresh what you learnt on your motorcycle training course. All motorcycle tyres are marked with a multitude of numbers, letters and symbols. Decoding these will tell you everything you need to know about your tyres.

[IMAGE: detect tire dimensions.]

Tyre dimensions

  1. 150 - Tyre types
  2. 70 - Ratio of height to width in %
  3. R - Type of tyre (radial/cross-ply)
  4. 18 - Rim diameter
  5. M/C - Motorcycle tyre
  6. 70H - Speed index / Load index
  7. TL - Tubeless tyres

Checking the age of your tyres

Knowing the manufacture date of a tyre is important: the older the tyre, the more it loses elasticity, which reduces its ability to grip on asphalt. For this reason, all tyres have an oval field on the sidewall containing a 4-digit number that represents the date of manufacture. Example: the number 1915 doesn't mean you're still driving around with rubber from World War I. Rather, your tyres were made in the 19th week of 2015.

[IMAGE: Zitat – „However, the height of these so-called TWIs (tread wear indicators) does NOT correspond to the minimum tyre tread of 1.6 mm prescribed in Germany.“]

Rotation direction and tread wear indicators

Because modern tyres are optimised for a specific direction of rotation, arrows on the sidewall indicate whether the tyre has been fitted correctly. Small cross ribs (wear bars) in the tread of all motorcycle tyres indicate when a tyre is nearing the end of its service life. However, the height of these so-called TWIs (tread wear indicators) does NOT correspond to the minimum tyre tread of 1.6 mm prescribed in Germany. 

Maintenance, inspection and repair of motorcycle tyres

Motorcycle tyres deserve to be looked after, considering they are largely responsible for the biking enjoyment you will experience on the road – not to mention your safety.

IMAGE: Accessories tires – tire valve.]
[IMAGE: Accessories tires – Air cylinders CO2.]
[IMAGE: Accessories tires – Slime puncture repair kit.]
[IMAGE: Accessories tires – Rothewald foot pump.]
[IMAGE: Tyres Auto Accessories Tour and Workshop.]

Tyre accessories for touring and workshop

Installation, inspection, repair: Louis has the right accessory for every tyre job.

Tyre Care & Accessories
[IMAGE: Measure tread depth.]

Measuring tread depth

By law, your tyres must have a minimum tread depth of 1.6 mm. It's safer to fit new tyres when you reach 2-3 mm at the latest, because tyres that have "worn square" also affect your motorbike's handling. You'll certainly know what we mean after your first change of tyres, if not before. Louis offers a range of tread-depth gauges that make light work of this job.

[IMAGE: In new tires.]

Running in new tyres

New tyres have a rather shiny, slippery surface due to the wax-like coating on the tread. It can take up to 200 km for this to wear away so that the tyres are properly "scuffed in".

[ICON: Tip.]In this phase, you should avoid abrupt acceleration and braking and go carefully when leaning into bends.

[IMAGE: Emergency repairs on the motorcycle tires.]

Emergency repairs to your motorcycle tyres

Generally speaking, it's important to check your tyres as often as possible (such as when filling up or checking your tyre pressures) for cracks, foreign bodies and any other signs of damage. And should you be unlucky enough to get a flat while out and about, many punctures can be provisionally dealt with using a tyre repair set. But we must emphasise that this is only a temporary solution! Ideally, a repaired tyre should only be on the road long enough to get you to the next workshop!

[IMAGE: Tyre Pressure Gauge.]

Check your tyre pressure regularly

Under-inflation by as little as 0.2 bar can noticeably affect handling. Conversely, over-inflation (= smaller contact surface) will wear out the centre of your tyre more quickly and reduce grip, which is why all tyre manufacturers recommend checking your tyre pressure every week - preferably with an accurate tyre pressure gauge

[IMAGE: Tyre Pressure Gauge.]

It's important to inflate your tyres to the correct pressure when they are cold, as the pressure increases by 0.1-0.2 bar when the tyres are warm from riding. And if you're on the road for a long tour, it pays to carry out occasional interim checks when you stop for a break.

Cross-ply or radial: the inner design of motorcycle tyres

Believe it or not, those round, black things actually represent a huge amount of sophisticated engineering. In addition to the rubber mixture and tread design, it is primarily the inner construction of a tyre that determine its strengths and how it handles.

[IMAGE: Diagonal tires.]

Cross-ply tyres *

The name derives from the design of the carcass, the skeleton of the tyre if you like. In order to give the rubber a stable shape, cross-ply tyres have several layers of cords, from bead to bead – oriented at an angle to the direction of travel in a criss-crossing pattern. This design is now used almost exclusively in tyres for classic motorbikes, and for off-road tyres – where the flexibility of the carcass and its ability to adapt to the terrain is an advantage. Disadvantages during road use: the tyres tend to expand and heat up greatly at high speed.

1) Diagonally oriented carcass plies, 2) Tread, 3) Rim, 4) Bead core, 5) Bead apex, 6) Carcass cover, 7) Airtight inner liner

[IMAGE: radial tires.]

Radial tyres *

The carcass of a radial tyre generally comprises just one or two plies which have the cords running at 90° to the direction of travel (i.e. radially to the wheel axle). This is covered by the belt plies, which (generally) run parallel to the direction of travel. The belt serves to prevent the tyre expanding as a result of centrifugal force. The single carcass layer generates less friction in the tyre, and consequently less heat – which is essential given the performance of modern motorcycles. Some manufacturers also use the belt ply to improve mileage performance in the centre of the tread and to give better sidewall grip when leaning into the bends, while other manufacturers achieve the same effect by using harder/softer rubber mixtures.

1) Radially oriented carcass ply, 2) Tread, 3) Zero-degree belt, 4) Rim, 5) Bead core 6) Bead apex, 7) Carcass cover, 8) Airtight inner liner

[IMAGE: tire compound.]
The sophisticated technology that goes into tread design means that modern sport and touring tyres are able to combine seemingly conflicting characteristics.

* Some manufacturers also use the belt ply to improve mileage performance in the centre of the tread and to give better sidewall grip when leaning into the bends, while other manufacturers achieve the same effect by using harder/softer rubber mixtures.

1) Harder rubber compound and/or stronger belt tension for high mileage performance. 2) Softer rubber compound and/or weaker belt tension for better cornering grip

[HEADER: Reifen.com.]
[HEADER: Reifen.com]

Leave it to the professionals: tyre fitting

Removing the wheels, disposing of the old tyres, fitting the new tyres, balancing the wheels and re-installing – you can do all these things yourself, provided you have the necessary skills and a well-equipped workshop. But how many of us can make that claim? Which is why this is a job best left to the professionals. It not only saves you considerable time and money, but also means you can set off knowing you're safe with a job well done. Louis recommends reifen.com.

Now available from reifen.com!

Brand Shops about «Motorcycle tyres»

[IMAGE: Logo – Craft Meyer.]

Craft-Meyer

The Workshop Team

Go to brand shop >

[IMAGE: Logo – Garmin.]

Garmin

Any time the right way

Go to brand shop >

[IMAGE: Logo – Rothewald.]

Rothewald

Tools for generations

Go to brand shop >

[IMAGE: Logo – Procycle.]

Procycle

Best care for the most beautiful hobby!

Go to brand shop >

Items viewed recently

You do not have any recently viewed items.

Europas Nr.1 für Motorrad & Freizeit

Wissenswertes über Motorradreifen

Louis verkauft keine Reifen. Trotzdem hier ein paar Worte zum Thema. Weil die Reifen die wichtigste Schnittstelle zwischen Motorrad und Straße sind. Von ihnen hängt ganz entscheidend sowohl der Spaß, als auch die Sicherheit beim Fahren ab.

Die Reifen sind hauptverantwortlich dafür, wie sich ein Motorrad „anfühlt“. Und nicht immer ist die Serienbereifung eines Motorrads auch die beste. Welche Alternativen infrage kommen, erfahren Sie am besten auf den Internetseiten der großen Reifenhersteller unter dem Stichwort „Reifenfreigaben“ oder bei Reifenprofis wie reifen.com. Testberichte in der Fachpresse geben ebenfalls wertvolle Hinweise.

Im Übrigen trauen Sie sich ruhig, mal ein anderes Reifenpärchen auszuprobieren. Denn jeder Fahrer hat seine eigenen Vorlieben und die Qualität ist bei allen großen Reifenmarken ähnlich hoch. Nur Billigangebote exotischer Marken sind mit äußerster Vorsicht zu genießen. Die Reifen sind das Letzte, woran Sie bei Ihrem Motorrad sparen sollten.

[IMAGE: Wissenswertes über Reifen.]

Die wichtigsten Reifentypen

Das Reifenangebot ist heute so vielfältig wie die Motorräder und die Ansprüche ihrer Fahrer. Spezialisierung heißt das Zauberwort. Die folgende kleine Typenkunde kann deshalb nur einen groben Überblick geben. Die Übergänge zwischen den einzelnen Kategorien sind fließend.

[IMAGE: Allrounder.]
[IMAGE: Zitat – "Laufleistung und Nasshaftung machen lange Urlaubstouren bei jedem Wetter problemlos möglich".]

Die Allrounder schlechthin: Tourensportreifen

Diese Reifenkategorie stellt für die Entwicklungsabteilungen die größte Herausforderung dar, weil die Anforderungen der Kunden sehr hoch und sehr widersprüchlich sind. Und die Hersteller schaffen es tatsächlich immer besser, allen Ansprüchen gerecht zu werden: Das Grip-Niveau aktueller Tourensportreifen liegt so hoch wie noch vor 10-15 Jahren bei reinen Sportreifen. Laufleistung und Nasshaftung machen lange Urlaubstouren bei jedem Wetter problemlos möglich. 

[IMAGE: Reifensatz für Touring.]
[IMAGE: Zitat – "Viele Sportreifen haften erst richtig gut, wenn sie warm gefahren sind".]

Genau richtig für Dickschiffe: Touren-/Cruiserreifen

Bei den Reifen für schwere Cruiser und für Tourer vom Schlage einer Honda Gold Wing kommt es weniger auf maximalen Grip in Schräglage an. Hier stehen Eigenschaften wie Stabilität, Tragfähigkeit und Laufleistung im Mittelpunkt. Aus dieser Kategorie stammen auch die überbreiten Hinterradwalzen für Custombikes.

[IMAGE: Sport- und Rennreifen.]

Für ein Leben am Limit: Sport- und Rennreifen

Hier zählen hauptsächlich maximale Haftung und optimale Rundenzeiten. Die vergleichsweise spitze Kontur von Sportreifen sorgt für eine große Auflagefläche der Reifen bei großer Schräglage – wichtig beim Herausbeschleunigen aus Kurven. Dazu passen weichere Gummimischungen, die einerseits für maximalen Grip sorgen sollen, andererseits aber auch relativ schnell verschleißen. Viele Sportreifen haften erst richtig gut, wenn sie warm gefahren sind.

Noch extremer sind reinrassige Rennreifen ausgelegt: kein Profil, geringe Lebensdauer und schlechter Grip bei Kälte beschränken den Einsatz auf die Rennstrecke. Dazwischen gibt es Varianten z. B. für Renntrainings, die zwar für den Straßenverkehr zugelassen sind, deren Leistungsprofil aber stark auf den Rennstreckenbetrieb fokussiert ist.

[IMAGE: Sport- und Rennreifen.]
[IMAGE: Reifensatz für Reiseenduro.]

Die SUVs unter den Reifen: (Reise-)Enduroreifen

Speziell für Groß-Enduros a la R 1200 GS ist diese Art Reifen konzipiert. Im Grunde handelt es sich um Tourensportreifen mit mehr oder weniger gröberer Profilierung. Entsprechend vielseitig und leistungsfähig sind diese Enduroreifen. Jedenfalls auf Asphalt und auf festen Feldwegen. Wer mehr will, greift zu den wenigen grobstolligen Ausnahmen, mit denen auch nasse Wiesen und Sandpisten ihren Schrecken verlieren – natürlich wiederum auf Kosten der Straßen-Performance.

  • 1) Straßenreifen mit Feldwegeignung
  • 2) Mischform für gröberen Untergrund
  • 3) Geländereifen mit Asphalteignung
[IMAGE: Reifensatz für Reiseenduro.]
[IMAGE: Reifensatz für Cross- und Geländeenduros.]

Wenn‘s richtig schmutzig wird: Geländereifen

Sand, Schlamm und Geröll sind die bevorzugten Arbeitsbedingungen für diese Art Reifen. Dort können sich die hohen Profilstollen bestens mit dem Untergrund verzahnen und für Vortrieb sorgen. Trial-, Cross- und Endurofahrer finden in dieser Kategorie Reifen mit hoch spezialisierten Profilen für die unterschiedlichsten Einsatzbedingungen. Nur mit Asphalt kommen Geländereifen gar nicht gut zurecht, zeigen dort ein holpriges und schwammiges Fahrverhalten.

Damit alles passt: die Reifen-Freigabe

In der Zulassungbescheinigung Teil 1 (Kfz-Schein) sind die für das Motorrad zugelassenen Reifendimensionen (siehe unten) eingetragen. Oft sind dort zusätzlich Hersteller und Modell der Erstbereifung vermerkt. Wer ein anderes Fabrikat oder gar Reifen mit anderen Dimensionen fahren möchte, sollte sich vorher erkundigen, ob es dafür eine Unbedenklichkeitsbescheinigung oder Freigabe gibt. Diese gibt’s beim freundlichen Reifenhändler oder als Download auf der Website des Reifenherstellers. So eine Unbedenklichkeitsbescheinigung beruhigt nicht nur Polizisten und TÜV-Prüfer. Sie schützt auch vor bösen Überraschungen in Sachen Fahrverhalten, denn die Freigabe wird üblicherweise erst nach ausgiebigen Testfahrten von Motorrad- und Reifenhersteller erstellt.

[IMAGE: Reifensatz für Roller.]

Die feinen Kleinen: Rollerreifen

Der wesentlichste Unterschied zwischen Roller- und Motorradreifen ist auch der offensichtlichste: die Größe. Allerdings sind die winzigen 10-Zöller alter Vespas inzwischen ziemlich aus der Mode. 12-14 Zoll sind heute die gängigen Größen – gut für mehr Stabilität bei höherem Tempo. Aufbau, Gummimischungen und Profile moderner Rollerreifen ähneln denen der großen Geschwister. Auch hier gibt es sportliche, touristische und sogar offroadtaugliche Varianten. Und es gibt eine Reifenart, die für die Großradfraktion fast gar nicht erhältlich ist: Winterreifen mit Lamellenprofil und Gummimischungen, die auch bei frostigen Temperaturen noch Grip bieten.

Beschriftungen und Markierungen an Motorradreifen

Fahrschulwissen aufgefrischt: Auf jedem Motorradreifen stehen eine Menge Zahlen, Zeichen und Buchstaben. Wer deren Bedeutung kennt, findet alles Wichtige über den Reifen heraus.

[IMAGE: Reifendimensionen erkennen.]

Die Reifenkennzeichnung:

  1. 150 - Breite
  2. 70 - Reifenquerschnitt
  3. R - Konstruktion
  4. 18 - Durchmesser
  5. M/C - Motorradreifen
  6. 70H  - Speed / Lastindex
  7. TL - Tubeless (dt. schlauchlos)

Alter des Reifens erkennen

Wann ein Reifen hergestellt wurde, ist durchaus wichtig: Je älter der Reifen wird, desto mehr verliert er an Elastizität und damit die Fähigkeit, sich mit dem Asphalt zu verzahnen. Deshalb findet man auf jeder Reifenflanke ein ovales Feld mit einer vierstelligen Zahl, die das Produktionsdatum angibt. Beispiel: Die Zahl 1915 bedeutet nicht, dass der Reifen aus der Zeit des Ersten Weltkriegs stammt. Gemeint ist vielmehr die 19. Kalenderwoche des Jahres 2015.

[IMAGE: Zitat – „Die Höhe dieser so genannten TWI (tread wear indicator) entspricht aber NICHT der bei uns vorgeschriebenen Mindestprofiltiefe von 1,6 mm.“]

Laufrichtungs- und Abnutzungsanzeiger

Weil moderne Reifen für eine Laufrichtung optimiert sind, zeigen Pfeile auf den Reifenflanken an, ob der Reifen korrekt montiert ist. In den Profilrillen findet man bei allen Motorradreifen kleine Querstege, die die Verschleißgrenze der Lauffläche anzeigen. Die Höhe dieser so genannten TWI (tread wear indicator) entspricht aber NICHT der bei uns vorgeschriebenen Mindestprofiltiefe von 1,6 mm.

Wartung, Kontrolle und Reparatur von Motorradreifen

Motorradreifen verdienen es, dass man sich um sie kümmert. Schließlich hängt von den runden Dingern ein Großteil des Fahrspaßes ab, den man auf dem Motorrad genießt – von der Sicherheit ganz zu schweigen.

[IMAGE: Reifenzubehör – Reifenventil.]
[IMAGE: Reifenzubehör – Luftkartuschen CO2.]
[IMAGE: Reifenzubehör – Slime Pannen-Set.]
[IMAGE: Reifenzubehör – Rothewald Fußluftpumpe.]
[IMAGE: Reifenzubehör für Tour und Werkstatt.]

Reifenzubehör für Tour und Werkstatt

Montieren, kontrollieren, reparieren: Louis hat für alle Arbeiten rund um die Reifen das passende Zubehör.

Reifenwartung & Zubehör
[IMAGE: Profiltiefe messen.]

Profiltiefe messen

Der Gesetzgeber schreibt eine Mindestprofiltiefe von 1,6 mm vor. Besser spätestens bei 2-3 mm wechseln, denn auch „eckig“ abgefahrene Reifen beeinflussen die Fahreigenschaften der Maschine negativ. Spätestens nach dem ersten Reifenwechsel werden Sie wissen, was gemeint ist. Bei Louis gibt es verschiedene Profilmessgeräte, die diese Arbeit erleichtern.

[IMAGE: Neue Reifen einfahren.]

Neue Reifen einfahren

Neue Reifen sind eine ziemlich rutschige Angelegenheit. Das liegt an einer wachsartigen Schicht auf der Lauffläche. Bis die abgefahren und der Reifen optimal angeraut ist, können bis zu 200 km vergehen.

[ICON: Tipp]

Also: anfangs abrupte Brems- und Beschleunigungsaktionen vermeiden und die Schräglagen allmählich steigern.

[IMAGE: Notreparatur am Motorradreifen.]
[IMAGE: Luftdruckprüfer.]
[IMAGE: Luftdruckprüfer.]

Durch die Erwärmung beim Fahren erhöht sich der Luftdruck um 0,1-0,2 bar. Bei Zwischenstopps auf längeren Touren berücksichtigen!

Notreparatur am Motorradreifen

Grundsätzlich sollte man seine Reifen so oft es geht (z. B. beim Tanken oder Luftdruck prüfen) auf Risse, Fremdkörper und sonstige Beschädigungen überprüfen. Falls einen der Plattfuß unterwegs doch mal erwischt, lassen sich viele Schäden mit Pannensets provisorisch beheben. Aber eben nur provisorisch! Einem geflickten Reifen sollte man am besten nur noch die Fahrt zur nächsten Werkstatt zumuten.

Regelmäßig Luftdruck prüfen

Schon 0,2 bar zu wenig in den Reifen verschlechtern spürbar das Fahrverhalten. Umgekehrt sorgt zu hoher Luftdruck (= kleinere Auflagefläche) für höheren Verschleiß und weniger Grip. Deshalb empfehlen alle Reifenhersteller, den Luftdruck wöchentlich zu überprüfen, am besten mit einem präzisen Luftdruckprüfer. Der korrekte Wert soll bei kalten Reifen eingestellt werden.

Diagonal oder radial: das Innenleben von Motorradreifen

In den runden schwarzen Dingern steckt jede Menge Gehirnschmalz vieler Ingenieure. Neben Gummimischung und Profilgestaltung sind es vor allem die inneren Werte, die über Charakter und Fahreigenschaften eines Reifens entscheiden.

[IMAGE: Diagonalreifen.]

Diagonalreifen *

Der Name kommt vom Aufbau der Karkasse, quasi des Skeletts des Reifens: Um dem Gummi eine stabile Form zu geben, stützen mehrere Lagen von Fäden den Reifen – und die verlaufen eben diagonal zur Laufrichtung. Dieser Aufbau kommt fast nur noch bei Geländereifen zum Einsatz, wo die Flexibilität der Karkasse bei der Anpassung an den Untergrund von Vorteil ist, und bei Reifen für Oldtimer. Nachteile im Straßenbetrieb: Starke Ausdehnung und Erhitzung des Reifens bei hohem Tempo.

1) Karkasslagen in diagonaler Ausrichtung, 2) Lauffläche mit Profil, 3) Felge, 4) Wulstkern, 5) Kernreiter, 6) Karkassumschlag, 7) luftdichte Innenplatte

[IMAGE: Radialreifen.]

Radialreifen *

Die Karkasse eines Radialreifens besteht meist aus nur einer oder zwei Lagen, deren Fäden quer zur Laufrichtung (also radial zur Radachse) angeordnet sind. Darüber liegen die Fäden des Gürtels (meist) parallel zur Laufrichtung. Der Gürtel verhindert, dass sich der Reifen durch die Fliehkraft ausdehnt. Die einzelne Karkasslage erzeugt im Reifen weniger Reibung und entsprechend weniger Hitze – was bei der Leistungsfähigkeit moderner Motorräder auch dringend erforderlich ist.

1) Karkasslage in radialer Ausrichtung, 2) Null-Grad-Gürtel, 3) Lauffläche mit Profil, 4) Felge, 5) Wulstkern, 6) Kernreiter, 7) Karkassumschlag, 8) luftdichte Innenplatte

[IMAGE: Reifenmischung.]
Moderne Laufflächen-Konstruktionen von Sport- und Tourensportreifen kombinieren dank ausgefeilter Technik scheinbar widersprüchliche Eigenschaften.

* Den Gürtel nutzt mancher Hersteller auch, um in der Mitte der Lauffläche eine höhere Laufleistung und an den Flanken mehr Schräglagen-Grip zu erzielen. Andere Hersteller erreichen den gleichen Effekt durch härtere bzw. weichere Gummimischungen.

1) Härtere Gummimischung bzw. stärkere Gürtelspannung für hohe Laufleistung. 2) Weichere Gummimischung bzw. schwächere Gürtelspannung für bessere Haftung in Schräglage

[HEADER: Reifen.com.]
[HEADER: Reifen.com]

Ein Fall für Profis: Reifen-Montage

Räder ausbauen, Altreifen entsorgen, neue Reifen aufziehen, Räder feinwuchten und wieder einbauen – das alles kann man mit dem nötigen Fachwissen und einer gut ausgerüsteten Werkstatt auch selbst machen. Aber wer hat das alles schon? Besser, man überlässt diese Arbeit kompetenten Fachleuten. Das geht nicht nur wesentlich schneller und kostengünstiger. Sie können auch mit dem guten Gefühl losfahren, dass alle Arbeiten korrekt ausgeführt wurden. Louis vertraut in dieser Hinsicht auf die Kompetenz von reifen.com.

Motorradreifen jetzt bei reifen.com kaufen

Markenshops zur Ideenwelt «Reifen»

[IMAGE: Logo – Craft Meyer.]

Craft-Meyer

Das Werkstatt-Team

Zum Markenshop >

[IMAGE: Logo – Garmin.]

Garmin

Wegweisende GPS-Technologie

Zum Markenshop >

[IMAGE: Logo – Rothewald.]

Rothewald

Werkzeuge für Generationen

Zum Markenshop >

[IMAGE: Logo – Procycle.]

Procycle

Beste Pflege für das schönste Hobby!

Zum Markenshop >

Zuletzt angesehene Artikel

Sie haben keine kürzlich angesehenen Artikel.