Europe’s No.1 in the Motorcycle

Louis Kawasaki ER-6n – Louis Special Conversion

Quite a transformation: The Louis mechanic team's extreme conversion turns the run-of-the-mill ER-6 into a high-class show bike.

kawasaki er-6n louis special conversion
kawasaki er-6n (img)

Kawasaki ER-6n

As a bike for learners and as a trusty everyday machine, the attractive ER-6 has been very popular, and Kawasaki's top seller, for years now.

Extravagant – Louis Kawasaki ER-6n

The Kawasaki ER-6 is a hugely successful motorcycle, with around 25,000 of them on the road in Germany alone. And with good reason. For a very affordable price, you get a well engineered 72 bhp all-round machine. The performance and modest weight of just 206 kg add up to a lot of fun, especially on the open road. Then there's the 48 bhp version, which is ideal for motorcycle training schools and first-time bikers.

So it seems a strange idea for the Louis mechanic crew to think about converting a motorcycle that does its job so well. But the thing is, our team made an interesting discovery. Hidden beneath the various covers, mounts and fairing components, the model that has been on the market since 2012 actually has an extremely elegant frame. In fact, the sort of frame that could have come from a bespoke frame builder like Spondon. It would be a crying shame not to let everybody see it in all its glory. So everything that concealed the frame was duly removed. And while they were at it, our team also took away anything that seemed too bulky or simply surplus to requirement. To put it in a nutshell, what was left was the frame, wheels, swing arm, forks and engine.

kawasaki er-6n louis special conversion
kawasaki er-6n louis special conversion
kawasaki er-6n louis special conversion

Entirely hand-crafted: Fairing, tank, seat

Metal guru Friedhelm Lammers then set about building a completely new aluminium bodywork to the mechanic crew's specifications, comprised of fairing, tank, seat and front mudguard. The single-seat tail unit meant that the rear of the frame had to be shortened. Of course, the go-ahead was first obtained from a local TÜV test centre. As befitted its new starring role, the clean-look frame was given a striking red paint job. As with the Dominator, this challenge, and also the tasteful addition of a little colour to the aluminium parts, was entrusted to none other than Danny Schramm.

An explosive combination: ER-6 with nitrous injection

An extravagant exterior needs to be matched by something rather special underneath. When it comes to extracting the most out of an engine, Ulf Penner from Bremen is regarded as a sort of human geiger counter. Using an adapted intake manifold from a Kawa ZX-10, performance cam shafts, machined cylinder head, high-compression forged pistons and a Power Commander, he turned the 72 bhp of the stock unit into precisely 99.9 bhp. As if that wasn't enough, the mechanic team together with Ulf then decided to install nitrous injection, giving a theoretical boost of up to another 40 bhp. The dynamometer showed 130 bhp – for around two seconds. Then a con rod failed and completely demolished the engine. To avoid any repetition, it was decided that 101.5 bhp would be quite enough for the replacement engine.

kawasaki er-6n louis special conversion
kawasaki er-6n louis special conversion

Final assembly: Elegant accessories for the high-class Kawasaki

Now the crew were ready to put the finishing touches to the bike. An MRA spoiler screen and a mini-headlight were integrated into the fairing. The exhaust system comprises Shark manifolds combined with the Conic rear silencer of a Suzi GSX-R (also from Shark). Therefore without EC type approval and, unfortunately, not street legal, or only with individual test centre approval. The super-elegant footrest system is from Gilles Tooling, while Motogadget supplied the micro handlebar switch complete with control unit, grips and bar-end turn signals and mirrors. The clip-ons and levers are from LSL. Pride of place in the centre of the cockpit is given to a single T&T multifunctional instrument, which tells you everything you need to know. It may look as if there is no tail light, but in fact there are two, both integrated into the turn signal/tail light combination from Kellermann. The nickel-plated drive chain from D.I.D is a real gem, as are the Ariete angled valve stems. The nitrous injection from Nitrous-Express can, if required, be operated via a Foliatec Kill Switch On/Off. Skilfully concealed in the rear fairing is an ultra-compact lithium iron phosphate battery from MBF.

Go to the products of the Kawasaki ER-6n Louis Edition

All parts at a glace

Sale %

ARIETE RACING VALVES

Easier accessibility
Two sizes available
and various colours

Rating : 3.66 out of 5

instead of 34.99

29.99

To the product

Sale %

BUTTON-HEAD HEX SOCKET

Stainless special bolts,
with button head and
hex socket 5-pc.

instead of 14.99

from 11.99

To the product
CHROME CRANK CASE

Enhances the look
For custom bikes & some
Harleys. Chrome!

17.99

To the product
CONTROLS M-SWITCH MINI

MINI Handlebar controls
with 3 push buttons in
metric and imperial size.

from 129.00

To the product
DID CHAINS ZVM-X TYPE

Individual D.I.D chains
in the most popular sizes
open, with rivet link.

from 109.99

To the product
FOLIATEC ON/OFF TOGGLE

FOLIATEC.com
Original racing look
For universal use

Rating : 5 out of 5

9.99

To the product
GILLES REARSET FXR

Gilles Factor-X rear set.
Racing technology for
the street!

from 299.00

To the product
HEADLIGHT MINI H4

Mini H4 Headlight
with side-mounts
165mm diameter only!

Rating : 4.66 out of 5

79.99

To the product
INDICATOR M-BLAZE DISC

Unique and distinctive,
harmonious bar-end
turn signal.

Rating : 4.5 out of 5

99.00

To the product
LSL BRAKE LEVER SHORT

6-position adjustment
CNC-milled
Top design

Rating : 4.86 out of 5

99.95

To the product
LSL CLUTCH LEVER SHORT

6-position adjustment
CNC-milled
Top Design

Rating : 4.4 out of 5

99.95

To the product
LSL HANDLEBAR CLAMPS

LSL clip-on handlebar
clamps SPORT-MATCH
the stylish one!

from 119.95

To the product
LSL HANDLEBAR-TUBE KITS

LSL handlebar-tube kits
for clip on handlebars
Available in 7 colours!

from 39.95

To the product
MICRO RHOMBUS DF TURN

LED turn signals with
integrated brake
and tail light.

Rating : 4 out of 5

instead of 79.95

from 62.99

To the product
MOTOGADGET BAR GRIPS

Motogadget rubber grips
m-Grip Soft for metric
and imperial handlebars.

Rating : 4 out of 5

from 29.00

To the product
MOTOGADGET M-REAR

Small, round bar end
mirror from Motogadget.

99.99

To the product
MOTOGADGET M-UNIT V.2

Digital control of all
switching without
mechanical relays!

259.99

To the product
MRA SPOILERSCREEN SMOKE

Spoiler Shield from MRA
Light tint
With type approval

Rating : 4.8 out of 5

from 79.99

To the product
QUICK-RELEASE COUPLING

No more spillages
when removing your tank.
Made in Germany.

Rating : 5 out of 5

39.99

To the product
T&T MULTIFUNCTION-

Classic analogue
speedometer with
digital tachometer.

Rating : 3.76 out of 5

149.99

To the product
Items viewed recently

You do not have any recently viewed items.

Europas Nr.1 für Motorrad & Freizeit

Louis Kawasaki ER-6n – Louis Spezial-Umbau

Kaum wiederzuerkennen: Der Extrem-Umbau der Louis Schrauber-Crew macht aus dem Alltagsmoped ER-6 ein hochkarätiges Showbike.

kawasaki er-6n louis edition spezial-umbau
kawasaki er-6n

Kawasaki ER-6n

Ob in der Fahrschule oder als Alltagsbegleiterin, die ebenso praktische wie hübsche ER-6 ist seit Jahren sehr beliebt und Kawasakis Topseller.

Extravagant – Louis Kawasaki ER-6n 

Die Kawasaki ER-6 ist ein echtes Erfolgsmodell. Mittlerweile fahren rund 25.000 Stück allein auf Deutschlands Straßen. Und das nicht ohne Grund: Für den recht günstigen Kaufpreis bekommt man ein 72 PS starkes und ausgereiftes Allround-Motorrad. Mit der gebotenen Leistung und den lediglich 206 kg Gewicht kann man insbesondere auf Landstraßen jede Menge Spaß haben. Die ebenfalls angebotene 48 PS-Variante erweitert den Kreis der potentiellen Käufer mit Fahrschulen und Anfängern enorm.

Da erscheint es wie grober Unfug, wenn die Louis Schrauber-Crew schon wieder so ein harmonisches Bike umbaut. Doch die Jungs haben da etwas entdeckt: Unter diversen Abdeckungen, Haltern und Verkleidungen versteckt sich bei dem seit 2012 angebotenen Modell ein wunderschön gezeichneter Rahmen. Einer, der auch aus einer Edelmanufaktur wie z.B. Spondon stammen könnte. Und der ist viel zu schade für ein derartiges Inkognito-Dasein. So wurde er von allem befreit, was seine Sichtbarkeit hemmt. Und weil sie gerade dabei waren, entfernten die Profis auch alles, was irgendwie zu klobig oder überflüssig erscheint. Kurz gesagt: Es blieben Rahmen, Räder, Schwinge, Gabel und Motor übrig.

kawasaki er-6n louis edition spezial-umbau
kawasaki er-6n louis edition spezial-umbau
kawasaki er-6n louis edition spezial-umbau

Alles Handarbeit: Verkleidung, Tank, Sitzbank

Darauf baute Metall-Guru Friedhelm Lammers nach Vorgabe der Schrauber-Crew ein komplett neues Alu-Bodywork aus Verkleidung, Tank, Sitzbank und vorderem Schutzblech auf. Der Einmann-Sitzhöcker machte die Kürzung des Rahmenhecks nötig. Letzteres natürlich mit dem vorherigen „Go“ vom TÜV-Prüfer des Vertrauens. Seiner Hauptrolle gemäß bekam der gecleante Rahmen eine knallig rote Lackieung. Diese Aufgabe und ebenso die dezente Farbanreicherung der Alu-Teile übernahm, wie schon bei der Dominator, kein Geringerer als Danny Schramm.

Durchgeknallt: ER-6 mit Lachgaseinspritzung

Zur extravaganten Erscheinung müssen auch die inneren Werte passen. Als eine Art Geigerzähler, wenn es um das Auffinden von Motorleistung geht, gilt Ulf Penner aus Bremen. Mittels einer angepassten Ansaugbrücke aus einer Kawa ZX-10, scharfen Nockenwellen, bearbeitetem Zylinderkopf, hochverdichtenden Schmiedekolben und einem Power-Commander machte er aus den 72 Serien-PS exakt 99,9. Als wenn das nicht genug wäre, beschlossen die Schrauber-Crew und Ulf, zusätzlich eine Lachgaseinspritzung zu montieren. Theoretische Mehrleistung: bis zu 40 weitere PS. Der Leistungsprüfstand zeigte 130 PS an – für etwa zwei Sekunden. Dann riss ein Pleuel, und verwandelte den kompletten Motor in Altmetall. Um das nicht zu wiederholen, ließ man es beim Ersatzmotor bei 101,5 PS bewenden.

kawasaki er-6n louis edition spezial-umbau
kawasaki er-6n louis edition spezial-umbau

Endmontage: Feines Zubehör für die Edel-Kawasaki

So ging die Schrauber-Crew schließlich an die Endmontage des Bikes. In die Verkleidung wurden eine MRA-Spoilerscheibe und ein Mini-Hauptscheinwerfer eingepasst. Die Auspuffanlage besteht aus Shark-Krümmern, die mit dem Conic-Endtopf einer Suzi GSX-R (ebenfalls von Shark) kombiniert wurden. Daher ohne EG-BE und leider nicht bzw. nur per Einzelabnahme für den öffentlichen Straßenverkehr zulässig. Die wunderschöne Fußrastenanlage lieferte Gilles Tooling, Motogadget steuerte die Micro-Lenkerschalter samt Steuereinheit, die Griffe sowie die Lenkerendenblinker und -Spiegel bei. Von LSL stammen der Stummellenker und die Hebel. In der Mitte des Cockpits thront ein einzelnes Multifunktions-Instrument von T&T und informiert über alles, was man wissen muss. Ein Rücklicht fehlt übrigens nur scheinbar, es findet sich sogar doppelt in den Blinker-Rücklicht-Kombis von Kellermann. Ein echtes Schmuckstück ist die vernickelte Antriebskette von D.I.D, ebenso wie die Reifen-Winkelventile von Ariete. Die Lachgas-Einspritzung von Nitrous-Express lässt sich bedarfsweise über einen Foliatec-Schalter mit Not-Aus-Funktion bedienen. Ganz unsichtbar im Heckbürzel ist ein ultrakompakter Lithium-Ferro-Akku von MBF verbaut.

Alle Umbauteile für die Kawasaki ER-6n Louis Edition

Alle Teile auf einen Blick

MINI Armatureneinheit
mit 3 Drucktastern für
1 Zoll und 22mmLenker.

ab 129,00 

Einzigartiger und eigen-
ständiger, harmonischer
Lenkerendenblinker.

Bewertung : 4.5 von 5

99,00 

Einzelne DID ZVM-X Ketten
in den gängigsten Maßen
offen, mit Nietschloss.

ab 109,99 

FOLIATEC.com
Original Rennsport-Optik
Universell verwenbar

Bewertung : 5 von 5

9,99 

Gilles Fussrastenanlage
Factor-X. Direkt aus dem
Rennsport für die Strasse

ab 299,00 

Mini H4 Hauptscheinwerfer
mit seitlichen Haltern
nur 165mm Durchmesser!

Bewertung : 3.4 von 5

69,99 

HighPower LED-Blinker
mit Rück-/Bremslicht
E-geprüft für hinten

Bewertung : 4.5 von 5

ab 79,95 

LSL Lenkrohrsets für
Stummellenkerschellen
In 7 Farben lieferbar!

Bewertung : 5 von 5

ab 39,95 

Sale %

6-fach verstellbar
CNC-gefräst
Top Design

Bewertung : 4.6 von 5

statt 99,95 

79,95 

6-fach verstellbar
CNC-gefräst
Top Design

Bewertung : 4.15 von 5

statt 99,95 

79,95 

LSL Stummellenker Gabel-
schellen SPORT-MATCH
der stylische Rennstummel

ab 119,95 

Motogadget Gummigriffe
m-Grip Soft für metrische
und zöllige Lenker.

Bewertung : 4.5 von 5

ab 29,00 

Lenkerendenspiegel mit
75mm Durchmesser von
Motogadget.

Bewertung : 5 von 5

99,99 

Digitale Steuerung aller
Schaltvorgänge ohne
mechanische Relais!

259,99 

Steigert die Optik
Für Custombikes & versch.
Harleys. Verchromt!

14,99 

Spoilerscheibe von MRA
in leicht getönt
mit ABE

Bewertung : 4.8 von 5

statt 84,90 

79,99 

Sale %

Ob zum Heben oder
als optisches Tuning!
In verschiedenen Farben!

Bewertung : 4.55 von 5

statt 9,99 

6,99 

Schluss mit der Kleckerei
beim Tank abnehmen.
Made in Germany.

Bewertung : 5 von 5

39,99 

Klassischer Analog-
Drehzahlmesser mit
digitalem Tacho.

Bewertung : 3.62 von 5

149,99 

Zuletzt angesehene Artikel

Sie haben keine kürzlich angesehenen Artikel.